Faculty

Our faculty is a group of active artists who exhibit and work regularly in the professional arts, education and research and development fields and have received numerous awards and grants from private foundations and government programs, both in the U.S. and abroad. Although they are listed below within their major areas of specialization, the faculty encourages a multi-disciplinary work environment and may advise students in areas other than those listed below.

 

Laurel Beckman
Professor (Experimental Video/Animation, Digital Intermedia, Public Space Arts)
M.F.A., California Institute of the Arts
lbeckman@ucsb.edu
Arts 2326

 

Sarah Rosalena Brady
Assistant Professor (Computational Craft and Haptic Media)
Undergraduate Diversity Officer
M.F.A., University of California Los Angeles
rosalena@arts.ucsb.edu
Arts 0250

 

Jane Callister
Professor (Painting, Drawing)
M.F.A., University of Nevada, Las Vegas
jane@arts.ucsb.edu
Arts 1348

 

Iman Djouini
Assistant Teaching Professor (Print, Book Arts and Intermedia)
Undergraduate Diversity Liason
M.F.A., Tulane University
imandjouini@ucsb.edu

 

Kip Fulbeck
Professor (Narrative, Performative Studies)
M.F.A., University of California, San Diego
Arts 2222

 

Colin Gardner
Professor (Critical Theory & Integrative Studies)
Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles
gardner@arts.ucsb.edu
Arts 2416

 

Lisa Jevbratt
Department Chair
Professor (Net Art/New Media)
M.F.A., San Jose State University
jevbratt@arts.ucsb.edu
Arts 2224

 

Alex Lukas
Assistant Professor (Print & Publication Arts)
M.F.A., Carnegie Mellon University
alexlukas@ucsb.edu

 

Shana Moulton
Assistant Professor (Video, Performance, Installation)
Graduate Advisor
Graduate Diversity Officer
M.F.A., Carnegie Mellon University
moulton@arts.ucsb.edu
Arts 2418

 

Jane Mulfinger
Professor (Sculpture, Spatial Studies)
M.A., Royal College of Art, London
mulfinger@arts.ucsb.edu
Arts 0643

 

Kim Yasuda
Professor (Public Practice/Sculpture/Spatial Studies)
Department Diversity Liason
M.F.A., University of Southern California
yasuda@ucsb.edu
Arts 0645

 

Affiliated Faculty

 

George Legrady
(Interactive, Algorithmic, Visualization media)

(Media Arts and Technology Program)
MFA, San Francisco Art Institute
legrady@mat.ucsb.edu
Elings Hall 2211

 

Marcos Novak
Professor (Interactive Media)
(Media Arts and Technology Program)
Master of Architecture, Ohio State University
marcos@mat.ucsb.edu
Elings Hall 2207

 

Marko Peljhan
Professor (Interdisciplinary studies)

(Media Arts and Technology Program)
Diploma, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
peljhan@mat.ucsb.edu
Elings Hall 2205

 

Laurie J. Monahan, PhD
(History of Art and Architecture)

 

Constance Penley
PhD (Film and Media Studies)

 

Jennifer M. Sorkin
PhD (History of Art and Architecture)

 

Sven Spieker
PhD (Germanic and Slavic Studies)

 

Jeffrey Stewart
PhD, Black Studies

 

Ninotchka Bennahum

PhD Performance Studies

 

Lecturers

 

 

Emeritus

 

 

Visiting Lecturers